Coffee Data Science

60C Filter Coffee from an Espresso Machine

Using thermal pre-infusion to brew better at lower temperatures

Robert McKeon Aloe

--

For the past two months, I have been looking at thermal pre-infusion. This involves bringing the puck temperature up to the brew water temperature. In considering Filter 2.0, I looked at the profile, and it looks similar to a long thermal infusion.

Filter 2.0 aims to make filter coffee using the Decent Espresso machine. This is a sample shot using such a profile.

All images by author

Instead, I thought about doing a 10 minute thermal pre-infusion at 60C, and then pulling a slow flow shot. I also went a bit finer than usual which is the opposite of Filter 2.0 where you don’t grind as fine as espresso, but not as coarse as filter.

Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) is measured using a refractometer, and this number combined with the output weight of the shot and the input weight of the coffee is used to determine the percentage of coffee extracted into the cup, called Extraction Yield (EY).

The extraction rate for a longer shot was very high, and then all I needed to do was add water.

The line has really been blurred on what is espresso or filter anymore. I suspect trying to make definitions that clearly delineates espresso from filter would be difficult outside of using TDS and Extraction Yield (EY).

If you like, follow me on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium and Subscribe.

Further readings of mine:

My Second Book: Advanced Espresso

My Book

My Links

Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.