Coffee Data Science

Blooming Espresso Profile Explorations

A side quest in trying to improve Pump & Dump

Robert McKeon Aloe
3 min readMay 12, 2023

Blooming profiles for espresso have been the more common advanced profile in the past 5 or 6 years. They are easy to understand and modify, and most of my profiles use the concept. A typical blooming profile does pre-infusion, pauses flow for some period of time, and continues with an infusion step.

I started exploring this blooming profile on the Decent Espresso machine using coffee that was 3 months post roast. This coffee is more consistent in being degassed, so I ran some experiments.

Blooming

This is a typical profile.

Bloom First?

I wanted to look at a few things. What if I put a bloom first? Could the bloom first help with any thermal issues?

No, it didn’t help. The 113C test is from my Pump & Dump profile as a reference.

Blooming Ramp

What about changing the pre-infusion from a straight edge to a ramp? Instead of ramping to 4 bars, what if you ramped flow until 4 bars was hit?

This did have an immediate improvement in extraction yield!

I tried changing the bloom from 0 ml/s to 0.1 ml/s as well as a few variants, but they made the shot worse.

I looked at a long ramp instead of a bloom since so much of the shot can come through on the ramp without moving to the bloom phase.

Changes to the Pump & Dump

These tests convinced me to change a few things. This is what my profile originally looked like.

I changed my pause flow rate from 0.5 ml/s to 0.1 ml/s, which gave a great improvement.

I also tried a long ramp, but that didn’t improve things.

I really enjoy running these tests because just when I think my profile is done and finished, I start experimenting and finding more improvements.

I also encourage anyone using a blooming profile to change to a blooming ramp profile.

If you like, follow me on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium and Subscribe.

Further readings of mine:

My Book

My Links

Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.