Coffee Data Science

Decent Espresso Profile Analysis Across a Population

Pooling larger data to understand user experience

Robert McKeon Aloe

--

An interesting question came up in the Decent Espresso Diaspora: how often do people use different profiles? I started thinking that this data was available and could be anonymized to be able to answer or get close to answering the question.

All images by author

I reached out to Miha Rekar who runs the Shot Visualizer, and I asked for this data without user names, just a unique user ID string. It was a lot of data, so I had to do some trimming.

First, I had to reduce to the top 1,000 users in terms of the number of shots. Then I reduced to the top 1,000 profiles used. This left 997 users.

Most people use a few profiles with 90% of users use 10 profile types or less.

If we look at the top profile each user uses, we can look at how frequently that profile is used. So if a user uses 10 profiles, I look at the frequency they chose to use their top profile. This metric attempts to understand how much people stray from their standard.20% use the same profile every time, but the use is spread out.

Let’s break this down in one more way: the top profile use vs the number of profiles used for each user.

Here is the same data as percentages:

Even amongst user using different profiles, there is a good bit of variability.

The top profiles are all over the place. Many are similar to each other, but I didn’t reduce the larger list to compress the similarly named profiles.

Upon request, I grouped these by the first word in the profile name. These profiles could be quite different, but they used these names:

This data was so interesting because it really shows the diversity in espresso profile preferences and potentially the importance of being able to have choice and customization in an espresso machine.

If you like, follow me on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium and Subscribe.

Further readings of mine:

My Second Book: Advanced Espresso

My First Book: Engineering Better Espresso

My Links

Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.