Hello, is this still a good time to talk?

Robert McKeon Aloe
1 min readApr 7, 2020

A phone interview is about building trust. I ask many questions, but two specific questions are fundamental and gatekeepers to moving forward. I borrowed them from a more experienced interviewer. Most responses fall into these categories:

A) Answer the question correctly

B) Work towards an answer

C) Refuse to work towards an answer

D) Be offended

E) Not answer because you don’t think you’re right for the role

Luckily, I answered the question when he interviewed me. I frantically emailed the recruiter afterwards because I was sure I messed up or wasn’t right for the role. She said I did just fine, and they sent me some homework. A month later, I started working at Apple.

What do you look for in a phone interview?

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.