Coffee Data Science

Knockoff Wafo Spirit Baskets

A short test

Robert McKeon Aloe

--

This past year, there was a rise in premium filter baskets for espresso. These baskets were also at a cost much higher than regular filter baskets. However, the performance was also different and interesting. As with most expensive things, cheap versions come out and I wanted to try one of them for the Wafo spirit because that basket has the best performance I’ve seen of a filter basket.

So I borrowed one of the baskets from a friend, and the EY on a test roast was very similar across a salami shot. So clearly there was hope.

However, taste was very problematic. The shots tasted like chemicals or something so off that I didn’t know how to grade it on my taste scale. I won’t even present the data because I didn’t finish drinking the shots. I threw the shots out.

To double check, I cleaned the baskets extensively. I was advised they probably need cleaning with soap and water. I tried soap and hot water, overnight soaking, and cafiza in an ultrasonic bath.

I did this until running brew water threw didn’t taste like anything which was a good sign because previously, even the brew water had this bad taste.

I tried once again with coffee, and the taste was still there.

I don’t thino filter baskets should take this much work. There is a reason the basket is cheaper to produce, and maybe it could be done with better quality control. I had hoped I wouldn’t end up writing this, but I think it is fair to warn people so they don’t waste money. I’m more than open to trying an updated basket with the problem solved, and I would share if it did in fact solve the problem.

If you like, follow me on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium and Subscribe.

Further readings of mine:

My Second Book: Advanced Espresso

My First Book: Engineering Better Espresso

My Links

Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.