Coffee Data Science

More Data on Less Headspace for Espresso

Extra data less headspace

Robert McKeon Aloe

--

I have previously looked at decreasing headspace in espresso where I showed less headspace was key to higher extraction yield. More data has become available to study headspace that further confirms my findings.

Decent Espresso looked at using a spacer to decrease headspace, and they collected 10 shots with the same profile with and without the spacer. They found an increase in EY. This increase was statistically significant and very large relative to other optimizations you can do for espresso.

I put this data on the same plot as my data, and this data is in line with my prior data.

More data could show something different, and I would be curious the conditions in which less headspace wasn’t preferable. There is probably a taste variable that could differ or maybe more headspace is better for tastier longer shots.

If you like, follow me on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium and Subscribe.

Further readings of mine:

My Second Book: Advanced Espresso

My First Book: Engineering Better Espresso

My Links

Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.