Coffee Data Science

Post-Mortem on a Kickstarter for a Book

What went right, what went wrong

Robert McKeon Aloe

--

Over a year ago, I started writing a book. I had written 1,200 pages of coffee stuff, and I thought I should extract something for a book. My friends in the Facebook Espresso Aficionados told me that 1,200 was too many, and I should do no more than 200 pages. So I started to work around with the material, and I got it to 200 pages. I was going to publish this copy digitally, but another friend said I should do a hardback.

So I did a Kickstarter with the idea that if I raised enough money, it would cover the costs, otherwise I would publish it digitally without further editing or design.

All images by author

I was very much surprised to get it funded in 7 hours, but I knew I needed more than I asked to raise. In fact, I estimated that only through sales after the fact, would I break even. I grossly under-estimated the cost of small things. So I will shared some lessons learned, and I’m grateful for the process because I did come out on the positive cash flow side.

Benefits

  1. The book itself: I have a nice book that I wrote. I’m glad about this work and proud of it.
  2. Friends: I have met a lot of new friends by writing this book. Not only did I solidify friendships by starting the book, but I made new ones along the way.
  3. Influence? The fact of the matter is that I gained a lot of followers and influence simply by compiling the book. I put a question mark because that wasn’t what I was aiming for, but I will take it. I don’t want that idea to change my ultimate drive towards making the best espresso.

Challenges

The amount of money needed was a challenge to estimate.

Book Costs

  1. Between the start of the fundraising and sending the book to the printer (6 months), the printing costs doubled due to economic changes. This moved my breakeven point significantly.
  2. Graphic design is not cheap, and there is a reason why book companies want to make sure their investment is worth it.

Shipping Costs

  1. I didn’t estimate shipping costs for outside of the US well. I originally charged $10 for shipping internationally, and it is more like $20. On top of that, I had to pay 10% of that cost to the platform. So when doing fundraising, you have to increase your shipping costs to account for the platform.
  2. Shipping has to include packing and storage too. This becomes an issue if you have surplus.
  3. I shipped the US orders from home to save me $6,000 in shipping, but that also took time in two ways: 1. I had to pack the orders. 2. The orders came by freight got delayed meaning US orders shipped two months after international orders.
  4. Addresses: I didn’t do a survey right away, and so I had a lot of addresses trickling in at the end. I prefer Indiegogo for In-Demand because the addresses were part of the sell.

Things to do Better

  1. Build excitement for a few months rather than two weeks.
  2. Find more businesses to do bulk buys. This was difficult because I didn’t have a book I could share with them until months later. I was able to do a few bulk orders in the end.

If you like, follow me on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium and Subscribe.

Further readings of mine:

My Book

My Links

Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.