Coffee Data Science

Single Sifter Staccato Espresso

A simple hack

Robert McKeon Aloe
Nerd For Tech
Published in
2 min readNov 4, 2022

--

Since developing the staccato espresso shot, I have experimented with different ways to layer coffee to get a similar effect as staccato. The staccato shot is layer sifted coffee, but one challenge is that sifting takes time. So I wanted to look at a way to speed it up.

While trying to understand sifting by doing a salami sift, I found the smaller particles get sifted out first. So when sifting using a 500um screen, the particles less than 200um come out first. This means that you could use a single sifter screen to make a staccato shot. You could even use a single screen to roughly re-orient all the coffee from smallest to largest.

I started with a 500um sieve, and I knew based on the grind, that I should sift out 10g of coffee. This would be the fine layer. I kept sifting until there was nothing more to sift which was about 3g fine. There was 10g coarse left over, so that would be coarse.

I looked at the particle distributions, and they were very unimodal. There was some overlap of course, but they were separated better than using three grind settings.

I pulled the shot, and the color was typical staccato. It ran a little too fast, but it was still an interesting shot.

This small experiment opens the door a bit in terms of the equipment needed to make good staccato espresso. I’m now curious to know if I can reorient an entire puck using a single coarse sifter, like 800um.

If you like, follow me on Twitter, YouTube, and Instagram where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium and Subscribe.

Further readings of mine:

My Book

My Links

Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe
Nerd For Tech

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.