Southern Indian Coffee

Fine Drip Coffee

Robert McKeon Aloe
3 min readSep 8, 2020

A year ago, a friend gifted me a coffee drip pot for Southern Indian Coffee along with typical Indian Coffee. The coffee was ground very finely, and it had been roasted with some spices. The coffee pot reminded me of a Neapolitan flip-pot. Typically, I don’t drink non-espresso or espresso based coffee drinks, but I thought it would be fun to give it a go.

The process was simple, put some coffee and some hot water in there. Let the water infuse, and then it will drip into the bottom.

I’m not sure what the metal piece was for, probably to stir.

The water wouldn’t go through because the bottom two pieces formed a seal so air couldn’t get out. The moment I lifted the top half, coffee flowed.

A typical recipe called for milk or creamer plus sugar. The coffee was very rich and dark, and I added a bit of milk. It was delicious, but I still prefer espresso.

The only reason I tried Indian coffee was because I was told it was super rich similar to espresso, and I wasn’t disappointed. However, it did take a little longer to brew though because of my inexperience. I should really try this again with fine ground coffee that I normally use for espresso.

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.