LEGO Church

A design outside the bounds of sets

Robert McKeon Aloe
3 min readJan 10, 2021

LEGO never produced sets related to religion, probably because they wanted to stay secular. I understand. However, churches have been mainstays in European cities and architecture. So I built a church.

All images by author

First, I set out to design the size so I could understand how many pieces I would need. Part of this design was dictated by how many rows and how wide the rows of seats would be.

I wanted it to be shaped how churches have been mostly designed in the past, in the shape of a cross.

I wanted some large doors and some arches. It didn’t turn out quite as planned, but it was enjoyable.

I had enough pieces for the roof, but it has to be different colors. I designed the roof and to sit on the skeleton of the building. This roof was designed as well so I could access the interior of the building easily.

I had an altar, a dish of holy water, and a baptismal font.

Another view shows pews and a little water that escaped the font.

The back side had doors for entry and more holy water. I was only missing a cry room, but I figured the church would be more tolerant of children than many churches I’ve been in.

I really enjoyed the design because it was particularly large. It seats 50 parishioners, which is the largest seating aside from my stadium.

If you like, follow me on Twitter and YouTube where I post videos of espresso shots on different machines and espresso related stuff. You can also find me on LinkedIn. You can also follow me on Medium.

Further readings of mine:

A Collection of Espresso Articles

A Collection of Work and School Stories

Personal Stories and Concerns

LEGO Story Splash Page

Photography Splash Page

Engineering Legos*

Launching a LEGO Rocket to the Moon!

The Lego Slum

LEGO’s: Stories of Destruction

Ode to Amantea in LEGO

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.